Faculty


Faculty

Dana Anderson

Dana Anderson

Associate Professor, English

Director, Composition

Director, Professional Writing Program

Research Interests
rhetorical theory, composition, and pedagogy; identity, agency, and rhetorics of human personhood; professional writing and visual rhetoric

Penelope Anderson

Penelope Anderson

Associate Professor, English

Affiliate, European Studies

Affiliate, Gender Studies

Affiliate, Renaissance Studies

John Arthos

John Arthos

Associate Professor, English

  • jarthos@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
Scot Barnett

Scot Barnett

Assistant Professor, English

  • scbarnet@indiana.edu
  • Ballentine Hall 442
Bob Bledsoe

Bob Bledsoe

Lecturer, English

  • robledso@indiana.edu
  • - -
Purnima Bose

Purnima Bose

Associate Professor, English

Associate Professor, International Studies

Adjunct Professor, American Studies

Adjunct Professor, Comparative Literature

Adjunct Professor, Cultural Studies

Adjunct Professor, History

Affiliated Associate Professor, Gender Studies

Judith C. Brown

Judith C. Brown

Associate Professor, English

Director of Undergraduate Studies, English

  • jcb@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 455
Linda Charnes

Linda Charnes

Professor, English

Research Interests
Shakespeare and renaissance studies; Shakespeare and postmodernism, critical and cultural theories; feminist cultural studies; early modern transatlantic and restoration literatures; political philosophy and theories of democracy

Edward Comentale

Edward Comentale

Professor, English

Associate Vice Provost, Arts and Humanities

Director, IUB Arts and Humanities Council

  • ecomenta@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 461
Joe Connolly

Joe Connolly

Lecturer, English

  • joconnol@indiana.edu
  • - -
L. Anne Delgado

L. Anne Delgado

Lecturer, English

  • lpdelgad@indiana.edu
  • - -
Romayne Rubinas Dorsey

Romayne Rubinas Dorsey

Lecturer, English

  • rrubinas@indiana.edu
  • - -
Jonathan Elmer

Jonathan Elmer

Professor, English

Director, College Arts and Humanities Institute

  • elmerj@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 428
Christine R. Farris

Christine R. Farris

Professor, English

Research Interests
composition studies; contemporary rhetorical theory and practice; feminist rhetoric; writing and literature pedagogy

Jennifer Fleissner

Jennifer Fleissner

Associate Professor, English

Affiliate Associate Professor, Gender Studies

  • jfleissn@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 436
Marion Frank-Wilson

Marion Frank-Wilson

Adjunct, English

Associate Dean for Collection Development and Archival Collections, Librarian

Ross Gay

Ross Gay

Associate Professor, English

Director, Creative Writing

  • rgay@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 527
Shannon Gayk

Shannon Gayk

Associate Professor, English

Director, Medieval Studies Institute

  • sgayk@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine 468
Rae Greiner

Rae Greiner

Associate Professor, English

Director of Graduate Studies, English

Editor, Victorian Studies

  • drgreine@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine 442
Mark Harrison

Mark Harrison

Lecturer, English

  • marharri@indiana.edu
  • - -
Vivian Nun Halloran

Vivian Nun Halloran

Associate Professor, English

Associate Professor, American Studies

Director, Graduate Studies, American Studies

Raymond Hedin

Raymond Hedin

Professor, English

  • hedin@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 129

Research Interests
Black American literature, especially slave narratives; American fiction especially Faulkner; early American literature; autobiography

Scott Herring

Scott Herring

James H. Rudy Professor, English

Associate Chair, English

Affiliate Professor, Gender Studies

  • tsherrin@indiana.edu
  • - -
Christoph Irmscher

Christoph Irmscher

Provost Professor, English

George F. Getz Jr. Professor, Wells Scholars Program

Director, Wells Scholars Program

Joshua Kates

Joshua Kates

Professor, English

  • jkates@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 420
Lara Kriegel

Lara Kriegel

Associate Professor, English

Director, Victorian Studies Program

Co-Editor, Victorian Studies

Associate Professor, History

Stephanie Li

Stephanie Li

Professor, English

Susan D. Gubar Chair, Literature

Affiliate Professor, Gender Studies

  • stephli@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
Karma Lochrie

Karma Lochrie

Ruth Halls Professor, English

Affiliate Professor, Gender Studies

  • klochrie@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 456
John Lucaites

John Lucaites

Provost Professor, English

  • lucaites@indiana.edu
  • Owen Hall -
Herb Marks

Herb Marks

Assistant Professor, Comparative Literature

Adjunct Professor, English

Adjunct Professor, Jewish Studies

Adjunct Professor, Religious Studies

Adjunct Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Cultures

Rosemarie McGerr

Rosemarie McGerr

Professor, Comparative Literature

Director, Graduate Studies, Comparative Literature

Adjunct Professor, Medieval Studies

Adjunct Professor, English

Jesse Molesworth

Jesse Molesworth

Associate Professor, English

  • jmoleswo@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 405
Monique Morgan

Monique Morgan

Associate Professor, English

  • mormorga@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
Walton Muyumba

Walton Muyumba

Associate Professor, English

Assistant Director, Creative Writing

  • wmuyumba@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
Richard Nash

Richard Nash

Professor, English

  • nash@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 427

Research Interests
18c British literature and culture; literature and science; animality and animal studies; early 18c satire and fiction

Alvin H. Rosenfeld

Alvin H. Rosenfeld

Professor, English

Director, Center for the Study of Contemporary Antisemitism

Professor, Jewish Studies

M. Glazer Chair, Jewish Studies

Affiliate, ISCA

  • rosenfel@indiana.edu
  • (812) 855-2325
  • Global and International Studies Building 4006

Research Interests
Holocaust literature; American Jewish literature; practical criticism

Ranu Samantrai

Ranu Samantrai

Associate Professor, English

Affiliate Associate Professor, Gender Studies

Rebekah Sheldon

Rebekah Sheldon

Assistant Professor, English

Affiliate Assistant Professor, Gender Studies

  • rsheldon@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
Nikki Skillman

Nikki Skillman

Assistant Professor, English

  • nskillma@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
Cynthia Duquette Smith

Cynthia Duquette Smith

Lecturer, English

  • cds@indiana.edu
  • - -
Kathy O. Smith

Kathy O. Smith

Associate Professor, English

Coordinator, Composition

Director, Basic Writing & Special Programs

Director, Administrative & Instructional Affairs

Research Interests
Rhetorical criticism; history of rhetoric; logic and argumentation; early modern poetry and critical theory; basic writing

Robert E. Terrill

Robert E. Terrill

Professor, English

Director, Writing & Rhetoric Studies

  • rterrill@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
Freya Thimsen

Freya Thimsen

Assistant Professor, English

  • athimsen@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
Alberto Varon

Alberto Varon

Assistant Professor, English

Affiliate Assistant Professor, Gender Studies

  • avaron@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
Shane Vogel

Shane Vogel

Ruth N. Halls Associate Professor, English

Director, Cultural Studies Program

Affiliate Associate Professor, Gender Studies

  • shvogel@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 411
John A. Walsh

John A. Walsh

Adjunct Associate Professor, English

Associate Professor, Information and Library Science

Stephen Watt

Stephen Watt

Provost Professor, English

Adjunct Professor, Theatre, Drama, and Contemporary Dance

Brenda R. Weber

Brenda R. Weber

Department Chair, Gender Studies

Professor, Gender Studies

Affiliate, American Studies

Affiliate, Cultural Studies

Affiliate, English

Affiliate, Kinsey Institute

Research Interests
popular culture, film, television, and reality television; feminist theory and the body; celebrity and gender; the politics of representation; masculinity; nineteenth-century transatlantic literature; theories of identity; cultural citizenship; american religious culture

Kurt Zemlicka

Kurt Zemlicka

Lecturer, English

  • kzemlick@indiana.edu
  • - -

Emeritus Faculty

Frederick L. Beaty

Frederick L. Beaty

Associate Professor Emeritus, English

  • fbeaty@indiana.edu
  • - -
Patrick Brantlinger

Patrick Brantlinger

James Rudy Professor Emeritus, English

  • brantli@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442

Research Interests
Victorian studies; cultural studies; history of literacy and reading; aesthetics; postcolonial studies

William Burgan

William Burgan

Associate Professor Emeritus, English

  • burganw@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
Paul John Eakin

Paul John Eakin

Ruth N. Halls Professor Emeritus, English

  • eakin@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442

Research Interests
autobiography; biography; life writing; concepts of self, subject, and person; relation between narrative and identity; auto-ethnography and narrative practices; ethics of life writing

Robert D. Fulk

Robert D. Fulk

Class of 1964 Chancellor’s Professor Emeritus, English

Adjunct Professor Emeritus, Germanic Studies

Donald J. Gray

Donald J. Gray

Professor Emeritus, English

Culbertson Chair Emeritus, English

  • gray@indiana.edu
  • - -
Susan Gubar

Susan Gubar

Professor Emeritus, English

  • gubar@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 454
Jeffrey Huntsman

Jeffrey Huntsman

Associate Professor Emeritus, English

  • huntsman@indiana.edu
  • - -
James H. Justus

James H. Justus

Distinguished Professor Emeritus, English

  • justusj@indiana.edu
  • - -
Eugene R. Kintgen

Eugene R. Kintgen

Professor Emeritus, English

Associate Dean Emeritus, University Graduate School

  • kintgene@indiana.edu
  • Kirkwood Hall 111

Research Interests
literacy; cognitive approaches to reading

Sheila Lindenbaum

Sheila Lindenbaum

Associate Professor Emeritus, English

  • lindenb@indiana.edu
  • - -
Joss Marsh

Joss Marsh

Associate Professor Emeritus, English

  • jomarsh@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 432
Lewis H. Miller Jr.

Lewis H. Miller Jr.

Professor Emeritus, English

  • millerl@indiana.edu
  • Jordan Hall -

Research Interests
advertising and American culture; James Joyce; Robert Frost; American renaissance

Roger Mitchell

Roger Mitchell

Professor Emeritus, English

  • username@indiana.edu
  • - -
David J. Nordloh

David J. Nordloh

Professor Emeritus, English

  • nordloh@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 421

Research Interests
American literature; late-19th-century; American studies; textual criticism; textual theory and bibliography; publishing and authorship

Murray Sperber

Murray Sperber

Professor Emeritus, English

Professor Emeritus, American Studies

  • sperber@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
Maura Stanton

Maura Stanton

Professor Emeritus, English

  • stanton@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 458
Lee Sterrenburg

Lee Sterrenburg

Associate Professor Emeritus, English

  • sterren@indiana.edu
  • - -
Paul Strohm

Paul Strohm

Professor Emeritus, English

  • strohm@indiana.edu
  • - -
William Wiatt

William Wiatt

Professor Emeritus, English

  • wwiatt@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442
John Woodcock

John Woodcock

Associate Professor Emeritus

  • woodcock@indiana.edu
  • Ballantine Hall 442

Research Interests
autobiography; literature and medicine; literature and science