Fellowship, Awards & Teaching Opportunities

Associate Instructorships

Associate Instructorships in the first year are only available to applicants to the concentration in Literature if they have completed an M.A. (or its equivalent) at the time of their appointment as Associate Instructor; in 2016, stipends will be $15,750, plus tuition and fee remission.

Creative Writing Fellowships and Awards

Shepherd Literary Award
for outstanding graduate fiction writing.
Vera Meyer Strube Poetry Prize sponsored through the Academy of American Poets

for outstanding graduate student in poetry

Ross Lockridge, Jr. Award/Creative Writing Fund

for a graduate student whose work shows considerable promise, whether in fiction, poetry, playwriting, or creative prose

Earle J. S. Ho Fund

This fund supports the Earle Ho Graduate Teaching Award in Creative Writing ("Teaching Award"),which is awarded to a graduate student who teaches creative writing on the IUB campus.

Booth Tarkington Chair in English Literature

Fellowships for outstanding graduate students in poetry and fiction

Ernest Hemingway Fellowship in Creative Writing

to graduate students at IUB majoring or concentrating in creative writing on the basis of demonstrated performance in the field of creative writing

Lois Davidson Ellis Graduate Fellowship

graduate fellowship for a student in the Department

Jane Foulkes Malone Scholarship/Fellowship

to support either a graduate scholarship or fellowship in the Department of English

Sally Kissinger Wilt Creative Writing Fellowship

annual fellowships in English with strong preference given to women graduate students

William E. Wilson Fellowship Fund

for academically meritorious graduate students in the Department of English at the Bloomington campus of Indiana University who plan to pursue either an MFA or a PhD with a concentration in the writing of fiction

Sam Yellen Scholarship Fund

for an incoming graduate student in the Creative Writing Program in the English Department

Neal-Marshall Graduate Fellowship in Creative Writing

for outstanding incoming African-American, Latino/a, Asian-American and Native-American students, named in honor of Marcellus Neal, the first African-American graduate of Indiana University (B.A., Mathematics, 1895), and Frances Marshall, Indiana University’s first female African-American graduate (B.A., English, 1919).

Yusef Komunyakaa Fellowship in Poetry

fellowship awarded to an outstanding incoming student in poetry, established in honor of Yusef Komunyakaa, who taught in Indiana University’s Creative Writing Program and Department of English from 1985 through 1996, during which time his work received the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, the Kingsley Tufts Award for Poetry, the William Faulkner Prize, the Southern Literary Association's Hanes Poetry Prize, among other honors. The Yusef Komunyakaa Fellowship in Poetry is a two-year fellowship.

Omar S. Castaneda Fellowship in Fiction

fellowship awarded to an outstanding incoming student in fiction, established in honor of Omar S. Castañeda, who was a member of the M.F.A. in Creative Writing Program's first graduating class (1983) and whose seven novels, short story collections, books for children, and edited anthologies received several national honors including the 1993 Charles H. and N. Mildred Nilon Award for Excellence in Minority Fiction and the Boston Globe Literary Press Award. Omar S. Castañeda died in 1997. The Omar S. Castañeda Fellowship in Fiction is a two-year fellowship.

Lynda Hull Fellowship in Poetry

A fellowship awarded to an outstanding incoming student in poetry, established in honor of Lynda Hull, who graduated from the M.F.A. in Creative Writing Program in 1988 and whose three collections of poetry were awarded the Juniper Prize for Poetry, the Edwin Ford Piper Poetry Award, the Carl Sandburg Award for Poetry, and Finalist status for the 1996 National Book Critics Circle Award. Lynda Hull died in 1994.

Darrell Burton Fellowship in Creative Writing

A fellowship awarded to an outstanding incoming student in creative writing, established in honor of Darrell Burton, whose M.F.A. in Creative Writing was awarded posthumously by Indiana University in 2004, and whose poetry appeared in Ploughshares’ special "Emerging Writers" issue, the Crab Orchard Review, The Ryder, Equinox, and elsewhere. Just prior to his death he had completed work on a collection of poems titled Weather Within.

Ledig House International Writers’ Colony Residency Fellowship

A one-month-long residency fellowship awarded to outstanding third-year M.F.A. students in fiction. The Ledig House International Writers' Colony is located approximately two and a half hours north of New York City in the hamlet of Omi, in the scenic Hudson River Valley. Writers and translators from all fields live and write on the 300-acre grounds and sculpture park that overlook the Catskill Mountains. During the residency fellows have the chance not only to write but also to meet other guests as well as visiting literary agents and prominent editors from major New York publishing houses. The Ledig House International Writers' Colony Residency Fellowship is made possible by an anonymous donor.

Bertolt Clever Writing Prize

for a student enrolled in a Department of English course at the graduate level who intends to pursue a career in writing

Fellowships and Awards for Graduate Students with a Concentration in Composition, Literacy, and Culture

Guy Lemmon Awards in English

annual awards given to students in the Department of English, with preference for creative, commercial, or public writing, and composition.

Keisler Composition Fellowship

for an Associate Instructor in our Composition program who has achieved outstanding results with innovative, stimulating teaching methods.

Culbertson Chair in Writing Fund

This fund supports awards for graduate student instructors of composition.